Car Scribbles

Nearly all Creatives have full time jobs and busy lives so it’s hard to find the time to be creative. This becomes a struggle as you think you’re letting yourself down or maybe you weren’t meant to be an artist (insert your creative here). My days are always busy with the 9-5. I often feel as though maybe I don’t want it bad enough or I’d try harder or quit and go freelance…

So I’m trying to make good use of my hour lunch. I spend it in my car in the parking lot. 


The first 15 mins are reading mail, catching up on my social media sites and yes a quick game of candy crush. I then take the next 15 mins and ‘try’ to meditate. Operative word being try, it’s a loud noisy parking lot, I won’t go into to details, you’d thank me 🙂


Then I get myself situated and spend 15 to 20 mins on what I call my #carscribbles sometimes it really is just a scribble other times it looks pretty good. I’ve started trying watercolour too, it’s a bit tough to get angled right in the car & my perspective looks off but it’s still fun.


I know I don’t spend the whole hour but this little bit keeps me sane so when I do have time at home I have #carscribbles in my sketchbooks with lots of ideas to develop. 

You have to keep drawing, regardless of whether it’s good or bad just the actual doing keeps your creative spark alight, it makes everything in this crazy world seem right. Try alotting a few minutes at lunch or make good use of those sticky notes. 

Leave a Reply

