Zentangle Shmentangle

When I was a kid my dad and I had this great game we played. We would take a piece of paper and very quickly make some squiggly lines that started and ended in the same spot. The rule was you didn’t put any thought into it just do it. We then handed it over to the other person where they would have to create an image within the squiggles. You could add a small item like an eye but no new lines.
You had to be very creative and think fast. It was very freeing and always sparked ideas for a later craft or art project or even a story.
The other part to this game was pattern creating. Oh my gosh zentangle….long before it existed as the ‘new thing’ for creatives. He could’ve made a fortune 😉

20140701-191251-69171949.jpg

I’ve been going back to that free hand squiggle lately, during my lunches I’ve been squiggle crazy and then pulling pieces out and using it to create some simple designs. I have some bigger plans for the simple WIP designs but only after I scan them, some digital work may add what I need.

20140701-191250-69170322.jpg

It’s been a lot of fun going back in time and has brought back so many memories of my dad and growing up in London.

20140701-193949-70789553.jpg

Leave a Reply

